Getting ARound Tuit in Costa Rica


Recently, my friend Mandy gave me a Round Tuit that she had painted herself with this explanation on the back:

“This is a round tuit. Guard it with your life. Tuits are hard to come by, especially round ones. It will help you become a much more efficient worker. For years you’ve heard people say, “I’ll do it when I get around tuit.” So now that you have one (a round tuit), you can accomplish all those things you put aside until you got a round tuit!”

For my readers who are learning English as their second language, to get around to something is an idiomatic expression that means “to eventually begin or return to some procrastinated task” (Wiktionary). It is putting something off, postponing the inevitable, dragging your feet, delaying, dawdling. For example, “My boyfriend will rake the yard when he gets around to it,” or “I’ll organize those old pictures when I stop dragging my feet and get around to it.” 

There is no specified time or sense of urgency. It will probably happen some day, but we’re not sure when.

The timing of Mandy’s gift couldn’t be more perfect. On the brink of another new year, I want 2011 to be a year of doing. I am tired of thinking about starting a blog to share my experiences in Costa Rica. I am done with wondering what it would be like to own a language school. I don’t want to procrastinate anymore and make excuses. My gymnastics coach used to say, “Champions don’t have excuses.” Granted, he was border-line crazy and extremely manipulative, but he was right.

So I hope you enjoy my new blog. I’ve got my Round Tuit next to my computer to remind me to write frequently (not just think about writing), and I hope my readers will remind me to get back tuit if I slip into slothfulness and stop posting to this site.

5 responses to “Getting ARound Tuit in Costa Rica

  1. I’m so happy you got a round tuit! What a cute idea 🙂 I’m very excited about your blog and can’t wait to see what’s going on up in Liberia!

  2. Nice Blogg now i’m your fan :), please write constantly can’t wait to see more entries 🙂

  3. Loooooooove it!!!!!!! What a wonderful and super cute idea! I am very excited to read your blog and to hear more about your new school!

Leave a Reply

