Things to Do in Liberia (besides get your heart broken by a cowboy)


My favorite historic house in Liberia on the Calle Real

Liberia is a fairly small town, so when I came here almost a year ago, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Would there be anything to do in Liberia? My first months here were a whirlwind of activity – starting Instituto Estelar Bilingüe and becoming single again – so I am only recently setting out to uncover what Liberia can offer.

Another very cool historic house on the Calle Real: Instituto Estelar Bilingüe!

As it turns out, there is a decent amount of activity here, and it’s all close and accessible. When I lived in San Jose and Heredia, there was also a lot to do, but I dreaded the long bus rides in heavy traffic to get where I needed to go, and I didn’t always feel comfortable going out at night alone or in the heavy rain. In Liberia, almost everything is within walking distance or a short taxi ride, so it’s hassle-free and economical. I feel safer here, and I’ve been fortunate to meet people – mostly my students – who invite me places or inform me of events. Also, it doesn’t seem to rain as much here as it does in the Central Valley.

So I would like to start a series of blogs about things to do in Liberia as I discover them myself. My goal is to give those thinking about coming here to work or study an idea of what it is like while also learning more about my home.

The Central Park of Liberia, just two blocks away from Instituto Estelar Bilingüe.

4 responses to “Things to Do in Liberia (besides get your heart broken by a cowboy)

  1. Nice…
    🙂

  2. What a great idea! Liberia sounds like a wonderful place to visit and maybe even a good place for an English teacher to live. ha ha.
    I am happy that you’re enjoying your home town more these days.

    • Thank you, Connie! It’s a good place for English teachers, who want to immerse themselves in Costa Rican culture and improve their Spanish, to live. There aren’t many foreigners living here, so that presents some challenges, of course, but it also has its advantages. Thanks for reading!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

