The Guanacaste Museum


Although Liberia is small, there are things to do here! Here is another blog, by our Estelar teacher Greta Phillips, about something she recently did in Liberia.

The Museo de Guanacaste, right in the center of Liberia, hosts a variety of cultural events.  This month there were art exhibits featuring artists from all over Guanacaste.  About ten artists were featured, mainly painters and photographers.

Beautiful paintings in the museum

As we signed the guest book, we noticed some Australian and German visitors had recently visited the museum, too.  Reading the artist bios and descriptions of the paintings was a fun way to practice Spanish, and the art certainly gave us an interesting perspective of Guanacaste.  One theme, for example, was beautiful, colorful laundry hanging out to dry.  There were bold portrayals of bull fights and people on stilts, as well as stunning photographs capturing the sun setting over the Pacific beaches.

Greta (in the middle) with her fellow Estelar teacher and her Tica friend relaxing in Central Park after visiting the museum.

Thank you Greta Phillips for this contribution!

3 responses to “The Guanacaste Museum

  1. I heard a couple of guys talking about this in the New York subway so I looked it up online and found your page. Thanks. I thought I was right and you confirmed my thoughts. Thanks for the work you’ve put into this. I’d love to save this and share with my friends.
    Welcome to my blog Job finder 😉

  2. I found your post comments while searching Google. It is very relevant information. Great work. Regularly I do not make posts on blogs, but I have to say that this posting really forced me to do so. Really awesome post. Really fantastic and I will be coming back for more information at your site and revisit it! Thank you. Guanacaste.

Leave a Reply

