Fast Decisions can be the best! / Las decisiones rápidas pueden ser las mejores


It was a fast decision to come to Costa Rica. I feel like I didn’t even think it through or research it like you really should before moving to a different country. But I remember thinking that if I didn’t do it, then I would wonder what I had missed every minute of every day after that.

It was less than a month between the time that the idea was introduced to me and the day I was on a plane headed to Liberia, Costa Rica – a place much different than the small town in California where I went to college and the even smaller town where I grew up.

Although I grew up in California, a place famous for beautiful beaches, I really hadn’t seen very many. Now, according to my pictures, I have been to at least 25 gorgeous beaches that each have a string of memories to go with them. Besides the beaches, I have visited rivers, waterfalls, volcanoes, and national parks that are too beautiful to put into words. Beyond all that, I have met countless awesome people, seen plenty of incredible animals, tried many new foods, learned a beautiful language, experienced and become accustomed to a different culture, and adopted a more relaxed, stress-free lifestyle that makes me thankful every day for the choice I made to come here.

My time in Costa Rica has also taught me a lot about myself and my own culture. Before I came here, I really didn’t think that I had much of a culture. I was often jealous in college when I met people who had customs and traditions that gave them a sense of pride and unity with those in their group. But in teaching my students about things I know well like Halloween Trick-or-Treating, Thanksgiving stuffing and pumpkin pie, hand-written Valentines, Easter egg hunts, and having a really good hamburger at a Sunday barbeque, I realized that I have a culture to share and be proud of. I love telling people about the way things are in my country and discussing the many differences between California and Costa Rica.

Even though I know now that I made the right decision, it was really intimidating for me to make the move to Costa Rica where I didn’t know anyone and I hardly spoke the language. I had to be serious and I had to be quick. I had to be open to new possibilities and I had to be willing to try new things. I think in the end that if I had really thought it through, I might have backed down. I might have chickened out and said ‘no I can’t do this’. But I didn’t over think it and I didn’t let it scare me. I said ‘yes’ and like that I made the best decision of my life.  It might not always be true, but my year in Costa Rica has convinced me that sometimes fast decisions are the best decisions that you can make.

 

christmas break 2013 (34)

Sharai Kirk, writer of this blog, has been in Costa Rica for a year, studying Spanish and teaching English at Instituto Estelar Bilingüe in Liberia.

 

Fue una decisión rápida el venir a Costa Rica. Siento que no pensé  mucho sobre mudarme a  un país diferente. Pero recuerdo que pensé que si no lo hacía pasaría cada uno de mis días pensando que hubiera pasado si lo hubiera hecho.

Paso menos de un mes entre el momento en que tome la decisión y el día que estaba en un avión rumbo a Liberia, Costa Rica – un lugar muy diferente a la pequeña ciudad de California donde crecí y fui a la Universidad.

Aunque crecí en California, un lugar famoso por sus hermosas playas, realmente no había visitado muchas. Ahora, según mis fotos, he estado por lo menos en  25 hermosas playas que llevan un sin fin de recuerdos con ellas. Además he visitado ríos, cascadas, volcanes y parques nacionales que son demasiado bonitos como para poder describirlos con palabras. Más allá de todo eso, he conocido a innumerables personas impresionantes, visto un montón de animales increíbles, probado muchos alimentos nuevos, he aprendido un precioso idioma,  he experimentado y acostumbrado a una cultura diferente y adopte un estilo de vida más relajado y libre de estrés que me hace agradecer todos los días la decisión que tome al venir aquí.

Mi tiempo en Costa Rica también me ha enseñado mucho sobre mí y mi propia cultura. Antes de venir aquí, realmente no pensé que tenía mucho de una cultura. En la Universidad a menudo me sentía celosa cuando conocía a  personas que tenían muchas costumbres y tradiciones que con orgullo celebraban. Pero enseñando en Costa Rica he podido compartir con  mis alumnos sobre Trick-or-Treating de Halloween, Thanksgiving relleno y pastel de calabaza, he  escrito a mano tarjetas de San Valentín, buscar huevos de Pascua y disfrutar de una muy buena hamburguesa en un asado un domingo, me di cuenta de que tengo mucho para compartir y estar orgullosa acerca de mi cultura. Me gusta hablar con las personas acerca de nuestra cultura y tradiciones y discutir acerca de las diferencias entre Costa Rica y California.

Aunque ahora sé que tomé la decisión correcta, era realmente apresurado para mí hacer el traslado a Costa Rica donde no conocía a nadie y no hablaba el idioma. Tenía que ser serio y tenía que ser rápido. Tenía que estar abierta a nuevas posibilidades y tenía que estar dispuesta a probar cosas nuevas. Creo que si lo hubiera pensado más detenidamente, hubiera dado marcha atrás. Yo hubiera podido acobardarme y decir ¨ no, no puedo hacerlo¨. Pero no dejé que la situación me  asustara. Dije ‘Sí’ y así tome la mejor decisión de mi vida. Quizás no siempre sea cierto, pero mi año en Costa Rica me ha convencido de que las decisiones que a veces son  rápidas son las mejores decisiones que uno puede hacer.

5 responses to “Fast Decisions can be the best! / Las decisiones rápidas pueden ser las mejores

  1. I would like to life the same experience!!!
    I am waiting my oportunity!!!

  2. You were very brave to go on such a journey right after graduating from college. While following your adventures on FB I am very envious and wish I had done something like this when I was your age. You have done remarkable things. Many more things than most people your age. Thank you for sharing it all. I look forward to seeing you upon your return to California.

Leave a Reply

