“Unexpected Spanish in the Workplace” by Caleb / “Español de Manera Inesperada en el Lugar de Trabajo” por Caleb


Caleb

In 2012 I managed to sneak away from work just long enough to study Spanish abroad in Costa Rica. Choosing Instituto Estelar Bilingüe was one of the best decisions I could have made! The classes did not waste precious time ushering me into conversation-mode that made me feel comfortable speaking with the locals within a few days. A fun learning environment in the morning coupled with plenty of excursions, explorations, and adventures in the afternoons meant opportunities to speak Spanish were simple and enjoyable!

Full-time schooling has not permitted me to return to Estelar just yet, but I am amazed how much Spanish I have retained! More than two years after my brief stay in Costa Rica, I was faced with caring for a Latina patient in the hospital who only spoke Spanish. I honestly surprised myself when Spanish flowed simply as I completed an entire health assessment with her! I have never studied any “medical” Spanish, but Estelar taught me how to communicate bilingually long before memorizing a vocabulary book. Thanks to my lessons at Estelar, I didn’t just fumble through words with my patient; but I actually connected with her and her husband comfortably.

Forget spending years trying to ‘memorize’ a language and start learning to communicate comfortably at Instituto Estelar Bilingüe. It was definitely the best learning AND adventurous experience for me!


Logré escaparme del trabajo el tiempo suficiente para estudiar español en el extranjero en Costa Rica en el 2012. Elegir el Instituto Estelar Bilingüe fue una de las mejores decisiones que pude haber tomado. Las clases no tardaron en involucrarme en una conversación en la que me sentía cómodo hablando con los lugareños en pocos días. Un ambiente divertido de aprendizaje en la mañana junto con un montón de excursiones, exploraciones, y aventuras en las tardes, con oportunidades significativas para hablar español simple y agradable!

Mis estudios de tiempo completo no me han permitido regresar a Estelar todavía, pero estoy sorprendido de cuánto Español he conservado! Más de dos años después de mi breve estadía en Costa Rica, atendí con mucho cuidado a una paciente latina en el hospital que sólo hablaba en español. Sinceramente me sorprendí de como el español fluyó y completé toda la evaluación médica con ella! Nunca he estudiado español “médico”, pero Estelar me enseñó cómo comunicarme sin tener que memorizar un libro de vocabulario bilingüe. Gracias a mis clases en Estelar, no me perdí en la conversación con mi paciente; de hecho tuve una buena conexión con su marido y ella.

Olvídese de pasar años tratando de ‘memorizar’ un idioma y empezar a aprender a comunicarse cómodamente en el Instituto Estelar Bilingüe. ¡Definitivamente fue el mejor aprendizaje y una experiencia osada para mí!

Leave a Reply

